As anticipated, EU foreign ministers have now signed off on powers to implement sanctions for human rights abuses.

The "Action Plan on Human Rights and Democracy" gives the 27 EU member states powers to:

  • Ban targeted people from travelling in Europe
  • Freeze the assets of both officials and "entities'' like organisations, companies or banks
  • Outlaw Europeans from making funds available to those engaged in serious human rights violations

Sanctions designations could be anticipated in early 2021.