The UK announced sanctions against 22 individuals following introduction of the Global Anti-Corruption Sanctions Regulations 2021 on 26 April 2021. This follows the introduction of the UK's Global Human Rights (GHR) sanctions regime in July 2020 (see our post here). Commentary to both regimes estimates that the majority of designations will also already be listed under US and Canadian regimes. 

The UK listed 22 individuals including 14 Russians linked to the tax fraud scheme which led to lawyer Sergei Magnitsky’s death. The designations also include Ajay, Atul and Rajesh Gupta and their associate Salim Essa for corruption schemes in South Africa, a Sudanese businessman for misappropriation of state assets, and individuals involved in corruption and drug trafficking in Latin America.

The US Treasury Secretary and Secretary of State released statements of support for the UK Anti-Corruption Sanctions regime, and both the US and UK have indicated an intention to coordinate on implementation of human rights and anti-corruption sanctions.